1. The World Cultural Heritage Site
The World Cultural Heritage Site is today an important center of industrial culture in Europe and Anchor Point of the European Route of Industrial Heritage. It was visited by approximately 310,000 visitors in 2013.
3. Old train station
Old train station has facilities and pedestrian tunnel under the railway tracks. Building was built of bricks and it was modernized at 1600-square-foot station area. Train station serves as main station for tourists, and it offers service for couple of hundred thousand people every month. If you want to visit surrounding area, you can do it with train.
5. The Warndt
The Warndt is a 5,000-acre wooded area on both sides of the Saarland-Lorraine border west of Saarbrücken and now a popular recreational area. The landscape consists of Warndt geology of red sandstone, which is crossed by iron bands and stored on hard coal. The area is bounded by the River Saar and Rossel. The name "Warndt" was given by Emperor Otto III. In the 17th century the Warndt was a refuge area for French Huguenots.
2. The Old Town Hall
The Old Town Hall was until 1970 the town hall Völklingen and is now home to the public library and the community college. The Town Hall was completed in 1875 after two years of construction by Richard Schmidt and Melchior Schneider. From 1905 to 1907 a reconstruction was carried out under community builder Hermann Eichner. New hall was purchased at the Town Hall Square. In 1972, the old town hall was declared a National Monument in 1974 and restored in 1976. Since that time, the adult education center, the city library and cultural areas found in the old town hall.
4. The Reconciliation Church
The Reconciliation Church is the parish church of the Evangelical congregation Völklingen Reconciliation in the Saarland Völklingen in the parish of Saar-west. Since the community was for many years the only Protestant parish in Völklingen, the church was at first simply called city church. According to a survey of members of the community, the church was renamed Church of Reconciliation. This was done to distinguish between newly formed Protestant churches in other parts of the city of Voelklingen.
The city was first mentioned in a memorandum to 822 years. as Fulcolingas. During the Thirty Years' War the city has lost about 84% of its residents. From 1679th to 1697th year. occupied by the French King Louis XIV. and annexed the county Saarbrücken. After that, once again dominated the count Saarbrücken. After peace in Campoformido (1797), like other German areas west of the Rhine, belonging to France.
Related content: Map of Völklingen